Daily Archives: March 5, 2009

Benediction from Jude

st_judeBecause it’s the last thing I read before Revelation and I wanted to share it  ’cause , I don’t know about you, but I sometimes have trouble staying on my feet:

Now to him who is able to keep you from falling,and to make you stand without blemish in the presence of his glory with rejoicing, to the only God our Saviour, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, power and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

The day to remember the books you should’ve read but didn’t

Today is World Book Day– kids get tokensto help them buy the books that will be put on one side as they pick up the Wii or Playstation or get on with texting or MSN. Today’s Times reported that 65% of people quizzed admitted to having lied about reading a book that they have not read. The report suggested that the most popular books lied about were 1984, War and Peace and Ulysees and…..the Bible. Why is it that we want to be thought of as having read more widely than we have? I guess for the same reason we say we exercise more and eat less than we do- we feel its part of an ideal image of ourselves  we’d like to have. I guess that’s why those short bluffers guide to…sell so well! I  find that some books take two or even three readings to get the most out of- this is certainly true for the Bible whose hidden treasures take a lifetime to appreciate and reads like a never-ending quality drama and love story. It’s no surprise  that a trip to  Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs guarantees only two books- The Bible and the complete works of Shakespeare. That reminds me, I must read through King Lear again soon and prepare for what my daughters have in store for me over the next few years!

For more on World Book Day see http://www.worldbookday.com/

1 Comment

Filed under Books