Never on Sunday

I know a few Christians who keep Sunday special- so much so they don’t even bother going to church – so I was amazed to read about   Dan Walker one of the new faces of the BBC’s football coverage. Dan will not work on a Sunday because he is a devout Christian. This took me back to the story of Eric Liddell of Chariots of Fire (who ended up playing or was it refereeing  football on Sunday as a POW ) and of the early days of triple jumper Jonathan Edwards (who now is not even sure he believes in God). In today’s edition of The Sun newspaper

Dan is reported as saying “When  first told the producers on a major radio station I wouldn’t work on a Sunday they told me I’d never get anywhere in broadcasting. They thought the fact that I said on my CV that I wouldn’t work on a Sunday was some kind of joke. When I explained I was a Christian, and why I felt the way I did, one of them just sat with his mouth open for about ten seconds. Hand of God … Sunday ban It was a great job and they fully expected me to give up everything to work for them, but I wouldn’t – I didn’t get the job. I take my faith quite seriously and not working on a Sunday is part of that. I don’t even watch football on a Sunday.”

Dan firmly believes that Sunday is time for spending at church with his family and gives some background to his decision; “When I was 12, and about 2ft taller than all the other kids, I was asked to play for quite a few teams. The problem was all their games were on a Sunday. I had only recently become a Christian and this was the first time I was confronted with the issue of how I should be spending my Sundays. I firmly believe God was using that experience, even at an early age, to prepare me for situations in the future when I would need much stronger convictions. People often say it must be really hard to be a Christian and to do the work I do – I disagree. Special I think my job puts me in the same situations everyone else faces. The only difference is that people who work in the media are usually paid to have opinions so you can get involved in some heated debates.”

He accepts his stand is not a position all Christians would take; “Many people – even Christians – have asked me why I feel so strongly about the Lord’s Day. For me it seems quite obvious. God, our creator, has given it to us for our own good. Some will argue that Jesus Christ’s coming means we are no longer obligated to keep it special but I fundamentally disagree. There are still ten commandments and it is more important than ever to guard the fourth one – remember the Sabbath and keep it holy.”

In the film Chariots of Fire Eric Liddell (who switched from the 100 metres because he refused to run on  a Sunday) is handed a piece of paper by the American Sprinter Jackson Schultz as Liddell is settling  down to run the final of the 400 metres  written on it were the words “The Lord says he that honours me I will honour.” Liddell went on to win the race and the gold medal against the odds. There is no doubt that in the world of sports broadcasting Dan Walker is winning against the prevailing tide- let’s hope he makes it to the better ground he has staked out for himself and that his stand doesn’t become a millstone like so many others have found.

11 Comments

Filed under bbc, Broadcasting, Christianity, faith, Football, Sport

11 responses to “Never on Sunday

  1. marwill

    John.14v21.” He that hath my commandments and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me. ” What hatred the world bears to God and His commandments and likewise to those that keep them.!

  2. I guess it’s a complicated subject and I admire him for taking a stand. Some people will call him crazy but I think most will secretly admire him.
    God wasn’t joking about having a day of rest (he even provided enough manna for the wandering Israelites so they could have their day of rest).
    However I think Jesus would be keen to say that it’s not so much when you have the day of rest it’s what you do with it. I don’t think God meant for us all just to put our feet up for a day but instead I think he doesn’t want us to be distracted from him by anything we normally do.

  3. The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath” (Mark 2:27)

    The Followers Church in Post Falls ID

  4. Christian Blog Awards

    Please enter your blog in the Christian New Media Awards 2010 – http://www.christianblogawards.com

  5. Lilian George

    Great Article..thanks 🙂

  6. Hi unfinished,
    coming to you from the land down under (Aus),I like your honestly – be encouraged it is very possible to grab hold of the finished work and be transformed into a person you wouldn’t recognize – Jesus did enough to even deal with our weak human condition, He made us alive in Him forever.

    cheers, Graeme

  7. This post has really challenged me and made me reflect on my own Christian journey. Thanks for posting this! God bless you

  8. Hmmmm, Interesting take on the whole not working on Sunday. I’m glad such a man would take his conviction so seriously and not crumble underneath the pressure of society to work a sunday :-).

  9. God’s law is clear. Exodus 31:15 – For six days, work is to be done, but the seventh day is a Sabbath of rest, holy to the LORD. Whoever does any work on the Sabbath day MUST BE PUT TO DEATH.

  10. Dev

    I really love your recognition of our lives being an unfinished journey. It is so important for ministry to be dependent on God’s mercy and grace, that church is a lifestyle, and hope is actually…..hope. Thank you for your ministry. Blessings.

  11. Increase Okechukwu Divine-Wisdom

    Interesting read. Not that keeping still on Sunday will get anyone to heaven but it’s still good to see people express their faith in bold ways like Dan did.

Leave a comment