Free speech

One of the risks in blogging about a whole range of things (and not censoring comments) is that from time to time some correspondents will get fixated on single issues. The purpose of this blog is to share with you my continued journey as an unfinished Christian and invite you to play your part in helping me along the way. I guess I’d hoped that my musings would appeal to others who consider themselves unfinished Christians or work-in-progress followers of Jesus. Well, I know of few of you reading this fit this description, but since I blogged about the BNP  I have had a handful of persistent correspondents who make it their business to justify particular theological positions and excercise their freedom of speech -that well-known catch all  for the right to say anything however offensive or unlated to the purpose of this blog. So, should I continue to keep comments on this blog unedited and put up with anything and everything that comes my way or do I block the people running obvious agendas? I honestly don’t know, but in the meantime I want to pray that we all need to look beyond, colour, culture and creed to the person underneath- the person that Christ died for. In Acts we read that, “God has shown me I should not call anyone impure or unclean. I recognise how true it is that God does not show partiality, but accpets people from every nation who fear him and do his will.” As ever, Nick Fawcett gets it right in Daily Prayer-

Living God, teach me that you did not just make some but all people in your likeness, and so teach me to value and respect everyone in the family of humankind. Through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

3 Comments

Filed under bible, Christian values, Christianity, faith, faith Christianity, Freedom of speech, Jesus, Prayer, religion

3 responses to “Free speech

  1. I suppose I consider myself an unfinished Christian as well – I don’t think that comments need to be offensive or to take positions.

    I read blogs to widen my horizens, there are so many great ones out there.

    If you wish to keep you blog to the point, I would go for editing or blocking, although, there are ways around that, but setting up different identities.

    I respond to things that I can agree or disagree with but only in a way that does not offend, manners cost nothing I was told as a child, but seem to be forgotten in the free-for-all internet.

  2. I don’t think that having Christian values would be unconstitutional.
    That’s just my thought.

Leave a Reply

