From Russia with Love

As I type out this blog post I am moved to tears once again by music. This time by the delightful Yekaterinburg Municipal Chamber Choir  singing an anthology of sacred Russian Choral music from a tradition more than eleven centuries old. In ancient Russia the original form of Russian liturgical song was born as an offshoot of the Byzantine tradition and over the space of a thousand years the choral style was integrated into the liturgical practice of the orthodox church. I am not a music scholar and so do not really have the ear to appreciate the subtle blend of sacred and Russian folk-music melodies, nor do I fully understand the polyphonic music adopted neume melodies or the mensural notions systems. All I know is that this music touches and inspires my soul and brings me closer into the heart and presence of God- that’ll do for me.

1 Comment

Filed under liturgical music, music, sacred music

One response to “From Russia with Love

  1. This hymn is great! This touched my soul too and I appreciate you posting it!

Leave a Reply

