Psalm 23 for the workaholic

Oscar Wilde once said that work is the refuge of people who have nothing better to do and for too many of us opur work-life balance seems out of kilter. My good friend Tony Miles recently reminded me of the wise words of J.A Hatfield who said, “The art of resting the mind and the power of dismissing from it all care and worry is probably one of the secrets of our great men and women.” Tony’s book Maybe Today encourages us to take thing easy from time to time. The poijt is well made with this reflection from Marica K Hornok who puts a different spin on the reassuring words of the well-known Psalm 23:

 The clock is my dictator, I shall not rest.

It makes me lie down only when exhausted.

It leads me to the deep depression, it hounds my soul.

It leads me in circles of frenzy for activities’ sake.

Even though I run frantically from task to task,

I will never get it all done, for my “ideal” is with me.

Deadlines and my need for approval, they drive me.

They demand performance from me, beyond the limits of my schedule.

They anoint my head with migraines, my in-basket over-flows.

Surely fatigue and time pressure shall follow me all the days of my life,

And I will dwell in the bonds of frusttation forever.

 If this sounds familiar, dig out the Biblical Psalm 23 or watch this film.

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, faith Christianity, God, Prayer, Psalms, religion

4 responses to “Psalm 23 for the workaholic

  1. Pingback: Rest and Renewal Sound Good? | wouldbbest

  2. Elkanah Oluwagbesan

    I enjoyed your articles on rest. Well done. Kindly permit me to use them in my teachings, preachings and publications on health. Your prompt response shall be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

