Breathe and slow down

I first met Rob Bell a couple of years ago when he visited the UK and premiered this film Breathe-it was the first time I’d ever seen a Nooma film. It was called breath and it blew me away with its proposition that the name of God could be the sound of breathing. I just loved the way Rob unpacked the paradox at the heart of what it means to be human- “all come from the dust and then die and return to the dust.” I thought about this film today when I reflected about how quickly I get frustrated  and angry and forget about being breathed into with the divine breath of our mighty creator God- a sacred divine dirt clod. Is there anything right now that you need to breathe out or breathe in?

You can get a glimpse of this from the You Tube video below. I hope you enjoy it. As Rob says, may you come to see that God is here, right now, with us all the time and that the ground that you are standing on is holy and that as you slow down may you become aware that you live, move and breathe in God.

1 Comment

Filed under bible, Christianity, evangelism, faith, faith Christianity, Hope, mission, religion, Rob Bell, theology, unfinished

One response to “Breathe and slow down

  1. mactheruss

    Spot on – good point, well made. However, I suspect you mean “breathe” rather than “breath”? Sorry to be a pedant 🙂

Leave a Reply

