What atheism did next…..

I came across this quote from Charles M Houser this morning and thought I’d share it:

“Atheism never composed a symphony. Never painted a masterpiece. Never dispelled a fear. Never healed a disease. never gave peace of mind. Never tried a tear. Never established philanthropy. Never gave an intelligent answer to the vast mystery of the universe. Never gave meaning to a man’s life. never built a just a peaceful world. Never built and enduring civilisation.” 

So what will atheism do next?

6 Comments

Filed under atheism, Christian values, faith, religion, secular

6 responses to “What atheism did next…..

  1. thirdgradeaunt

    I came across this on the WordPress homepage, and even though its pretty late at night, I want to say a few things.
    I am an Atheist. And I have to say, my lack of faith has given me more piece of mind than my faith ever did when I was a Christian. It dispelled the fears I always had of angering a God who made me so strong willed that I began to question his rules, and eventually, his very existence. And Atheism has given more meaning to my life than I could have ever imagined as a Christian.

    As far as an intelligent answer goes, I think decades of scientific research is far more intelligent than a 2,000 year old book written by goat herders.

    Everyone has the right to their opinions,their faith, or their lack of faith. I have voiced many, many arguments against religion, but I would never go as far as to say that it doesn’t make people happy, that it doesn’t give them peace. It is a very arrogant and dangerous presumption to make, that only your specific belief can cause happiness. You should never assume you know how people feel, or how they see the world, based upon their religious beliefs. You should get to know them, as people, and base your assumptions upon that.

  2. unfinishedchristian

    Thanks for the response. You may be surprised but I agree with a lot of what you say and it is important that people of faith should have confidence in what they believe but do not become arrogant and I hope some Christians post and say so. The quote intriguied me and that’s why I posted it- don’t foeget I am an unfinsihed Christian! I hope you continue to find peace in the path you have chosen, and that you are also able to draw on some of the things you discovered when you were a Christian- they’re not all bad I’m sure. As far as the bible- it has it’s issues (see some of my posts by searching for bible on this blog) but the goat herders and fisherman had a little help from someone to produce a book that has had such influence and impact and has genuinely inspired and changed lives. May peace and blesing be with you.

  3. Tom

    wow, i am a little suprised by the bloggers response. Thirdgradeaunt says “God made her so strong willed that she questioned his rules and existance” I dont want to sound arrogant, but don’t you think thats a little prideful? you can’t accept God because of who you are? or don’t you think its a little ironic that while “God made you this way” you deny Him?

    Also it makes you feel better because you’re sinning (we all are) and by denying God, you can feel better about your sin. Like there is no one to answer to…. just my opinion though.

  4. thirdgradeaunt

    I agree, there are some parts of the Bible that are good, and useful in everyday life. I did learn from my experience as a Christian early in life, and did take some lessons from it. I think people should do that with all of their experiences, or what’s the point of having them?

    As far as Tom’s response goes, I wasn’t trying to sound arrogant. I was just trying to say that I’ve always been very inquisitive, and I find it very difficult to take “because God/the Bible/my pastor says so as a reason for anything. And while I said that God made me that way, it was more of a hypothetical scenario- where a God who wants me to have unquestioning faith created me with so many questions. Its one of the things that made me begin to question my faith, the fact that I’m just not wired for religion. I don’t like the “God is the answer” response I got a lot of the time, because I think some things are too complex to have such a simple and generic answer. I realize that some people find great comfort in it, and anything that makes people happy can’t be all bad. It just wasn’t for me.

    Regarding the comment about sinning, I hear it a lot. I live in the “Bible Belt” (Southern Georgia, to be exact) and I’ve probably heard almost every argument that can be made for religion. I don’t deny God to feel better about my “sins”. I think that everyone makes mistakes, and I take mine to heart almost too much most of the time. I am very critical of myself, and I do my very best to ensure that my mistakes remain my own and don’t affect anyone else. Its not like I go around pushing children down and robbing grocery stores, then saying “its ok, there is no God to judge me.” I judge myself, and I think that I am far more critical of myself than the loving God of the Bible would be of me. I don’t escape feeling guilt because I’m not religious. Guilt, compassion, empathy, and regret are very human emotions that cross all lines of religion and spirituality. Yes, there are some people who seem to be immune to them (serial killers, politicians, etc.), but as a whole, they are what all people seem to have in common. I might not have a god or gods to answer to, but I have my own conscience. I also have the respect of my nieces (see my blog), my siblings, my father, and my future husband and children to think about. I don’t want to do anything that would make them disappointed in me, or anything that would put stress on my relationships with them.

    Thank you for the responses 🙂 I will definitely take a look at more of your posts!

    ~ Stephanie

  5. pilot

    Wow, unfinished. I never encountered that quote before. It is absolutely true. Thank you for posting it.

  6. I understand the suggestion that atheism has less orientation towards creativity, given it acknowledges no supreme being.

    However, the lack of supreme being doesn’t, I think, preclude a supreme process or system. Atheism doesn’t deny most “natural laws” and in fact is often portrayed in opposition to supernatural explanations as opposed to a “rational” approach.

    Where your quote suggests that atheism never composed a symphony, I agree. Atheists themselves, however, have and will continue to do so.

    Far be it for someone who acknowledges a creative and powerful God to imply that because somebody doesn’t believe in Him they somehow cannot call upon the creative and innovative within themselves. After all I believe that the God I acknowledge put those impulses there.

Leave a Reply

