14 stations and 7 last words

eakins_crucifixion335x600Firstly, I have to point out that I am not a Roman Catholic , or even Anglo-catholic, but there is something I feel we can gain and share by walking in the footsteps of Christ aswe journey through Holy Week together on this blog. The stations of the cross are not marked in the tradition I am used to, yet I can see how they help us recall and meditate on the passion and death of our Saviour. On Good Friday, I hope to spend an hour at the cross as part of a service my own church hosts. I haven’t attended a service like this before, and I am not quite sure what to expect but I do know that the seven last words from the cross tell us all we can know about Jesus’ thoughts at his crucifiction. We treasure them for what they enable us to understand about his sacrificial love and as a source of faith, inspiration and mystery. At the 14 stations and reflecting on the 7 last words we share in both the pain and glory, which are ours to embrace.

So, starting today through till next Maundy Thursday I will be posting some reflections from Rev T. Ronald Haney’s book Stations of the Cross, and,on Good Friday, prayers from Anthony  Phillips’s Book Entering into the Mind of God. Here are the first 3 sstations according to Haney.

Station 1- Jesus is Condemned –His silence. That’s what disturbs the most. It cuts through the savagery of history, slicing into the very marrow of brutal, wanton, wasteful killings like his own. Condemned, he remains silent.

Station 2- Jesus Accepts the Cross- The Cross. Stark. Frightening-not so much for what it is but for what it will become. An instrument of torture and death. A crucifix. Yet he takes it.

Station 3- Jesus Falls for the first time- He falls. There is no record of anyone helping him up.”I looked about, but there was no one to help; I was appalled that there was no one to lend support.” (Isa 63.5). He lies there, prostrate, beaten, weakened. It is the moment of decision. Does he stay down or does he get up and go on? He struggles to his feet.

Leave a comment

Filed under bible, Christianity, death, Jesus, religion

Leave a Reply

