Stay Close

Another poem to share with you from Christopher Payne.

I don’t know how it works, Lord, but I’m here with a petition;

I don’t know how it works, Lord, but I’m here to make a prayer

For a loved one with a problem. For a friend in bad condition.

For a soldier who is dying, please be there.

 

I don’t know if you hear me when I’m pouring out my heart, Lord;

I don’t know if your Heaven reaches here,

But I’m here to take a gamble that I really cannot lose

And I’m ready to take action; please be near.

 

Will you hear the prayer I offer, if it really is a prayer?

I believe, please help my trembling unbelief;

Will you give the strength I need, Lord, give me faith where faith falls short?

Stay close by me. Do not leave me in my grief.

 

For more on poetry from Christopher Payne see http://www.christopherpaynepoetry.net/

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, poetry, Prayer

One response to “Stay Close

  1. Pingback: I believe in the Holy Spirit…. « Unfinished Christian’s Blog

Leave a Reply

